Friday, November 4, 2016

Blog Tour: Weregirl by C.D Belle



Title: Weregirl
Author: C. D. Bell
Pages: 400
Publisher: Chooseco
Publication Date: 11-01-2016
Add to Goodreads
Amazon| Barnes and Noble| Website
Synopsis:" Nessa Kurland is running for her life. 

C. D. Bell's WEREGIRL is a fast-paced teen thriller set in Tether, Michigan, a town on the brink of shutdown since it was stripped of its resources by corporate polluter Dutch Chemical. 

High school junior, Nessa Kurland, is a cross-country runner with her eyes set on one thing: a college scholarship as her one-way ticket out of Tether. 

Talented teammate Cynthia Sinise invites Nessa on a nighttime run through Tether overgrown forest trails. But she speeds ahead, leaving Nessa alone to discover a trapped wolf. Nessa tries to free the animal but is badly bitten, seemingly ruining her hopes for a strong fall season with the cross-country team. 

Instead, Nessa freakishly quick recovery is followed by improved running times. All her senses are heightened. Nessa has transformed. She has become a werewolf. 

In her new state, Nessa learns there are things about Tether that powerful people want to keep hidden. Why does a Nobel Laureate work at the small-town medical clinic? Are top college athletic scouts really interested in her emerging talent? Can she trust Chayton, the motorcycle-riding guide her friends have faith in? Nessa must navigate her junior year and true human darkness, while making peace with her new, wild nature."

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Quarterly Goals #2

If you don't know what Quarterly Goals are basically I make a set of 10-20 goals and all I have to do is complete half of them to be consider successful. If I don't I will have my failures on the internet and there's nothing like a good cup of humiliation. 

Last Quarter Goals

1.  Gain 130 followers on Twitter.
2.  Get 20 Facebook Likes
3.  Get Netgalley ratio to 80
4.  Read at least 50 books
5. Write 20,000 words
6. Get 100 Bloglovin followers
7. Get 10 Blogger Followers.
8. Get all As in the first 9 weeks of school
9. Become a month ahead in blogging
10. Get in a good schedule
11. Start a idea journal
12. Get 500 views a month


I did complete two and a half goals. I got 500 views for two months, but not the third month so therefore it was half completed. I did get 130 twitter followers. I actually have 139 twitter followers which is great. I started an idea journal. If I really want to give myself more credit I could say the first two weeks of school where I had a good schedule, but that would be stretching it. That was obviously a fail. I failed and I can do better. Again my productivity levels haven't been the best, but I do see where I can improve to become better. 

This Quarters Goals

  1. Participate in NaNoWriMo
  2. Finish 3 classes
  3. Stay Consistent in Blogging 
  4. Read 25 Books 
  5. Get 500 views everymonth
  6. 145 Twitter Followers
  7. Redesign Blog
  8. Get All As and Bs in the 2nd 9 weeks
  9. Write 50,000 words
  10. Get Netgally to 80% 
  11. Finish all College Things 
I actually have 12 goals, but one of them is more personal and I don't really want to speak out on it anytime soon. This is a good amount of goals to complete and doesn't seem too hard. Do you do quarterly goals? How did you do last quarter and what are you doing this quarter? Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time. 




Tuesday, November 1, 2016

In My Once Upon A Time A Review #4

Happy November everyone!!! It's that time of month where I give you a recap about my blog and my life in general. I'm so excited to be posting again because blogging is just something that's so much fun to do. October wasn't that busy and I could see where I could have used my time better, but I have been reading a lot more. I'm not reading as much as I know I can, but starting off small then working myself up is my plan. Next month I hope to boost my productivity up dramatically, here's to a great November.

Be on the Look Out For

In the coming months I have a lot planned for my blog and my life. I'm going to be redesigning my blog for the new year. I have an idea that I want to kick off during the new year, but I need another blogger who would be willingly to do it with me. There's also going to be tons more reviews on books, movies, and t.v shows. One of my favorite posts to do are discussion posts and I have ideas in the bucket for that. Not to mention more writing tip posts throughout the month of November.

Shows I Have Been Watching

I haven't been watching a lot of tv, but I have been watching some. I'm also going to mention shows I want to catch up on before the end of the year. Three of the fall shows I have been watching religiously This is Us, Timeless, and The Good Place other than that I haven't seen that much tv. However, there's some shows that I definitely want to watch before the end of the year like Grey's Anatomy, AHS, Supernatural, Orange is the New Black, Conviction, Orphan Black, and How To Get Away With Murder. 

I deeply apologize for not being on a lot. I hope that people are still reading my blog and are interested in what I post. I hope everyone is going to have a great month of November and the rest of the year. Remember to keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.


Monday, October 17, 2016

The Madman's Daughter by Megan Shepherd

Title: The Madman's Daughter
Author: Megan Shepherd
Publication Date: 01-29-2013
Publisher: Blazer+Bray
Pages: 420
Synopsis:  "Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumors about her father’s gruesome experiments. But when she learns he is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations are true.

Accompanied by her father’s handsome young assistant, Montgomery, and an enigmatic castaway, Edward—both of whom she is deeply drawn to—Juliet travels to the island, only to discover the depths of her father’s madness: He has experimented on animals so that they resemble, speak, and behave as humans. And worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island’s inhabitants. Torn between horror and scientific curiosity, Juliet knows she must end her father's dangerous experiments and escape her jungle prison before it's too late. Yet as the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father’s genius—and madness—in her own blood.

Inspired by H. G. Wells’s classic The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Madman’s Daughter is a dark and breathless Gothic thriller about the secrets we’ll do anything to know and the truths we’ll go to any lengths to protect."

Sunday, October 9, 2016

Glitter by Aprilynne Pike SST Post

Title: Glitter
Author: Aprilynne Pike 
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: 10-25-2016
Pages: 384
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis:  "From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel—Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it’s the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.Outside the palace of Versailles, it’s modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it’s the eighteenth century—with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it’s about to become a very beautiful prison.When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will marry the most ruthless and dangerous man of the court. She has six months to escape her terrifying destiny. Six months to raise enough money to disappear into the real world beyond the palace gates.Her ticket out? Glitter. A drug so powerful that a tiny pinch mixed into a pot of rouge or lip gloss can make the wearer hopelessly addicted. Addicted to a drug Dani can sell for more money than she ever dreamed.But in Versailles, secrets are impossible to keep. And the most dangerous secret—falling for a drug dealer outside the palace walls—is one risk she has to take."


Monday, September 19, 2016

Where Have I Been!!!!!!!!

Exactly on August 15th I took a social media break I had a few thing schedule, and I did went on Twitter once three days later. That break turned into a month long hiatus from anything social media related. I couldn't really handle anything the things going on in my life at the time. I did what was best for me last month. I'm so so sorry about it, though I doubt anyone missed my blog content. However, I did miss writing blog posts and reviewing things, so I guess that is all that matters.

Originally I was going to start posting regularly at the beginning of September. School started which was consuming most of time. On top of that I have physically therapy appointments three times a week for an hour because of my badly sprained ankle. I think I posted something about that on Twitter last month. Me being busy would be a big understatement and posting every single day isn't feasible at the moment. I am currently at the point where I have found a schedule that works for me and all I need to do is add blogging and writing in it.

Therefore I came up with a doable posting schedule and that is posting every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. There may be a few extra posts here and there, but this is what is going to be happening for at least a month. Then that number might change to 4 times a week. For Instagram I'm going to try to post twice a week at the least.I hope everyone is having a fantastic school year. Do you guys change up your schedules for school? Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.



Friday, September 2, 2016

Blog Tour:Red The Untold Story by Angela M Hudson




Title: Red The Untold Story
Author: Angela M Hudson
Publication Date: July 25 2016
Page : 349
Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU | B&N
Synopsis: "An eccentric tale of tragic loss and renewed hope.
 
Do not go gentle into the wolf's asylum...
 
Once every twenty years, pack alpha Luther takes a new wife. On the day of Selection, Red is chosen. Just as her family always planned. Just as she always planned. Until she met Alex Plain. 
 
Alex took Red to worlds she never imagined, where the ordinary is seen as magical, and the upright is abstract. With the help of this new friendship, Red begins to see a future for herself outside of the pack. But, unfortunately, Alex Plain came along too late. 
 
Red is obligated to marry Luther now, and taken to live in the mysterious Ravenswood Mansion, where truth lies and the walls have eyes. What Red learns there about her alpha will ignite some burning questions--ones that, when answered, could undo the entire order of the pack: What happened to all the children born there? Why hasn't this mansion left the last century behind? And where are all his previous wives?"


Thursday, August 18, 2016

My Blogging Routine

Welcome to another BTS for Bloggers post, today I will be sharing my blogging routine. I finally go into a blogging routine and I would love to share this with everyone. The reason I'm doing this post is because when I first started blogging I was clue lists and I would search for posts like this and I couldn't find any sort of thing like it. I'm really hoping this gives some inspiration to try this method out or find something that works for you guys. I like this because it is very flexible and I can shift around most likely this will be something I do during the weekend, but as of right now I do it more freely.  Let's jump into the post.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Top 5 BTS Essentials



Welcome to another Back To School for bloggers post. Toady I will be sharing my 5 Back To School Essentials that everyone should either get or know about. Some of the items in the post might be used in other posts so I might not go in depth of every single one. Without further a do lets jump into the post.

Monday, August 15, 2016

Back To School Supplies


Welcome to the first official BTS post in my series Back To School For Bloggers. Today I will be showing you all the school supplies I am using for the 2016-2017 school year. I will  try to leave a detail list of the items and pricing below. Disclaimer I did have some left over supplies from last year like the highlighters, the binders, the big stack of paper, and the on 5 subject notebook. I also wanted to put in that no way am I bragging about I got. I won't be going into depth on these supplies some of them I have certain posts plan for and will go more in depth for.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Summer Blogging Promo Tour Post #5

Welcome to post five of the Summer Blog Promo Tour which was created by The Book Bratz and today I will be hosting Claire from BlankSlaters. I did the Bookish Guessing Game on her blog and today she is doing Bookish Hangman on my blog. Both of these posts were fun to do and create for me. Let's jump into the post.


Friday, August 12, 2016

Back to School for Bloggers Kick Off Post



Hello, everyone and welcome to my series called Back to School for Bloggers. In this series of posts I will be sharing tips on how get organized for school and still have run a blog. It is that time of season where we are heading back to school. You can call me a nerd if you want, but I love school absolutely love it and adding to the fact that I'm graduating this year it adds in to more of the excitement. Last year I struggled a lot with this and I really wanted to find some posts on how other people do it and I found nothing and I'm hoping with this series someone might get the help that they need.

In the coming weeks I will be sharing anything from my planning system to a back to school haul. August 28th at 2:00 PM I will be hosting my first ever Twitter chat dealing with the Back To School season. I would love to have you come and join me with it. We will be using the hashtag #BTSblogger.

Whether if you are already back in school or going back to school this information will hopefully help you. Running a blog and still having a great school year is what a lot of bloggers want. The feat seems like a challenge and it is, but if you love doing it then its worth finding a way. Buckle up and relax because we are all in this for the long run. Lets make this school year the best we all ever had. Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

School Year Book Post #BBCP


Welcome to the second Book Blogger Creativity Project which is created by Nori from ReadWriteLove28. This is project is a great way to meet new book bloggers and create something amazing. Basically you sign up and you get put into this group and with in this group you come up with project. My groups project was a to make a Year Book for books and we have bunch of superlatives that we created.  These books that we are all mentioning has been read or release between August 2015- June 2016, which is a typical school year for us people living in the US.

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Writing Update # 3

I have a confession to make I failed Camp NaNoWriMo and I really wanted to make it work, but July wasn't a good month for writing or anything really. I did read 7 books in the month of July which was great. I do have some updates on my writing life that I would like to share with my lovely readers.

First, I came up with some new ideas. Is there other people who always have ideas flowing in their head? Because I can come up with ideas out of the blue and it's really hard to focus on what I want to write. Sometimes I wish that Alexander Hamilton could teach me how to write like I'm running out time, but I'm okay with taking my time on the my WIP because I don't want the manuscript to feel like I'm rushing it.

Second, is that I'm rewriting the beginning of my story because it feels like it was rushed and I didn't have my main character voice developed enough. Now that I rewritten the first chapter everything else seems to flow a lot better, though I still have four more chapters to fix. The reason this even became an issue was that I wrote the first chapter when I didn't know how I wanted it to go, so I pushed through it. Don't get me wrong pushing through that writer's block really works, but it threw the whole story off. I'm happy that I caught this problem now because now rather than later. I'm also fixing my issue of being an underwriter. Another thing that I'm really working on is showing instead of telling. I noticed that I'm horrible at telling rather than showing. To add on to the list of my improvements is editing. In real life my grammar sucks and sometimes my brain works faster than what I say and or write, to fix this I been trying to crack down on editing my posts before I post them.

The next thing I wanted to update everyone on is I started doing a brain dump on a different idea. My main goal of this is try to find a way that works for me when it comes to planning out a novel. I have tablet that has all the basics of the story in it. I will be also adding things as I go long, like having character profiles and everything else in this high fantasy world that needs to make this world just as believable as real one. I'm love with creating this whole new world from scratch and I think its a lot of fun.

How's everyone WIP doing? I hope everyone's writing life is doing good and that you all are making progress on your novels. Stay in tune for mor writing posts in the future. Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.




Monday, August 1, 2016

In My Once Upon A Time #3

In My Once Upon A Time is a monthly wrap-up that comes out on the fourth of every month well it normally does, this month I want to see how it works on the first of the month. I can't believe this is my third In My Once Upon A Time already. I been blogging consistently for three months on this new blog. I'm in love with what I'm doing and I feel like everything is improving about this blog. The month of July was not a good month for me and my family. Our vacation went horribly wrong and then we had a family emergency. I'm currently in a boot to help my ankle heal. On some better notes I got my schedule for school, got accepted to a college, I have been reading a whole lot more, I created an Instagram account, I also have some events that I'm planning, and I even close to reaching some of quarterly goals!!!! I guess with everything bad that happened this month a lot of good things happened and I'm super excited for this month. Sorry, for the long introduction let's jump into the main post.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Summber Blog Promo Tour Post #4

Hello, everyone this week I'm featuring Katlin from Next Page Please, she did a really fun post in my eyes and I hope everyone enjoys it. Remember SBPT is an event created by The Book Bratz. I have a very fun time doing all these posts. I'm being featured on Amanda from Brains Books and Brawn. Remember everyone keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

Title: The Well of AscensionAuthor: Brandon Sanderson
Pages: 796
Publication Date: 06-03-2008
Publisher: TOR Fantasy
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis: "They did the impossible, deposing the godlike being whose brutal rule had lasted a thousand years. Now Vin, the street urchin who has grown into the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and Elend Venture, the idealistic young nobleman who loves her, must build a healthy new society in the ashes of an empire.

They have barely begun when three separate armies attack. As the siege tightens, an ancient legend seems to offer a glimmer of hope. But even if it really exists, no one knows where to find the Well of Ascension or what manner of power it bestows.

It may just be that killing the Lord Ruler was the easy part. Surviving the aftermath of his fall is going to be the real challenge."

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

What Am I Watching Wednesdays

I made a meme because I want to share to the world that what I'm watching on Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and etc.As far as I know this isn't already a meme I looked around and couldn't find anything on it. Basically this is a once a month post where you share what your watching on the Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and etc. I think this post is relevant to so many people because a lot of people watch these sites and its just to a way to interact with other people who might have watched the same show as you. You might also find a new show to start watching. I'm not going to be going into a full depth about the show because one I'm not done and two I will be saving it for later date. Let's jump into it.

Sunday, July 24, 2016

Summer Blogging Promo Tour #3



This week for the Summer Blog Promo tour hosted by Bookish Bratz I will be featuring Amanda from Brains, Books, and Brawn. She will be discussing her TBR for the rest of the Summer and lets just say there's some amazing reads that I keep hearing about and can't wait to read them. Without further ado here's Amanda.

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

ARC August is on its way!!!!!!



I'm actually really excited to do this event because this will help me make a dent into my quarterly goal to get my Netgalley ratio up to 80%. I'm already so close to getting to where I want to this so close, but I just need that extra push into reading the ARCs. If you didn't know what ARC August was like me, it is an event hosted by Read..Sleep.Repeat where you make a goal of ARCs that you want to read and then you read them This is try to do bite into that pile of ARCs that we have sitting around. Each week I'll do an update linking all of the ARCs I have read and reviewed and all reviews will be found on Goodreads because I schedule my posts ahead of time so you might not see an actual review of ARC August or you might see them. Sorry for the long intro lets jump into my list of books.


Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Gilmore Girls Review+ Thoughts and Predictions


Today's post is going to be a little different. I'm finally doing that review of the Gilmore Girls. I can't wait to share how much I love this show and thoughts and predictions for the spin off series that is being release later this year. Without further a do here is my Gilmore Girls Review.

Gilmore Girls aired on the CW from 2000- 2007 and made its way through seven seasons of ups and downs of life. We see little Rory Gilmore grow up and graduate an Ivy League School. The whole show will hits hard the struggles of being a single parent, but lets not forget the amazing cast and dialogue that's so quick and witty, All seven seasons are Netflix and if you want to check out more about it go look on its IMDB page. Each episode is great and have different moments that everyone would love. This is definitely a really good family oriented show. According to Rotten Tomatoes it has a 90% overall which is extremely good for Rotten Tomatoes.

Monday, July 18, 2016

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

Title: Mistborn
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Pages: 643
Publisher: Tor Fantasy
Publication Date: 07-31-2007
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis: "Once, a hero arose to save the world. A young man with a mysterious heritage courageously challenged the darkness that strangled the land.

He failed.

For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably.

Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and even the Lord Ruler himself. A new kind of uprising is being planned, one built around the ultimate caper, one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine, a street urchin who must learn to master Allomancy, the power of a Mistborn."


Sunday, July 17, 2016

Summer Blog Promo Tour Post #2



Hello, everyone welcome to my second post for the Summer Blog Promo Tour. I'm super excited to be here this week with Lizzie from Big Books and Grande Lattes, It took us awhile to figure out a topic, aka the idea slump. I'm really excited to be doing this topic of 5 New Tips for bloggers, when I first started blogging this would have been really helpful to find something like this as well as posts on how others blog. This would have helped me find my own unique way, but like a lot of us it took us awhile, but now we are here. Without further ado here's her tips.

Monday, July 11, 2016

Written On Her Heart by Paige Rion

Title: Written on Her heart
Author: Paige Rion
Publication Date: April 23rd 2014
Pages: 273
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis: "Andi Callaway has dreamed of becoming a published author her entire life.

Ford Delaney has always wanted nothing more than to escape his past.

An opportunity of a lifetime. This is what Andi finds when she returns home to Callaway Cove on summer break. A chance to work for her literary idol Ford Delaney is up for grabs, and she’s willing to risk everything—her boyfriend, her best friends, and her education—to get it.
She’s positive this will be the key to reaching her dreams. But the moment she begins working for the reclusive author, Andi realizes there’s more to him than just a name. As attraction builds between Andi and Ford, she begins to discover consequences must come hand-in-hand with something great—which could loosen control over her tightly wound life. And once romantic sparks fly, Andi’s other relationships start to crumble, Ford’s fame comes back to haunt him, and the heat they generate will either forge a powerful, enduring love or threaten everything she holds dear."


Sunday, July 10, 2016

Summer Blogging Promo Tour Post #1

The Summer Blogging Promo Tour 2016 is in full swing and is ran by Amber and Jessica from The Book Bratz. It started on July 3rd and this is my first official post due to some unexpected reasons. Anyways I'm feature Katie from Bibliophile. We will be playing a fun game of Movie I Spy. Basically I gave her some clues in an I Spy format. These movies are her favorite and her answers will be in purple.  Lets jump right in.

Thursday, July 7, 2016

A Guide to Hamilton Songs Part 1


I thought I would try doing something a little different on here and that's a music guide. Today's music guide is on Hamilton songs and this is strictly about the songs on the first disc. A disclaimer, all the favorite songs are my opinons, so don't take offense to it if I disagree with you. So, I think we can all agree on the fact that every single song in Hamilton is amazingly put together. I love every single song, just some more than others. If you guys haven't heard of Hamilton first off do you live under a rock? Second off, its like the best thing ever because it combines history and musicals together as one. Now let me break disc one down.

Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Quarterly Goals #1

Quarterly Goals #1
There are four quarters in a year and quarterly goals are goals for that quater. Jenna Moreci created this and does videos every quater about her goals. It really inspires me because she gets a lot of done and this girl here needs to learn how to become more productive. I'm going to have a list of 10- 20 goals and if I complete at least half of them then its successful. Down below I linked the video of her latest one so you can get more of a picture 

Tuesday, July 5, 2016

5 Reasons Why You Should Read #1

Title: Life After Juliet
Author: Shannon Lee Alexander
Publication Date: July 5th
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pages: 304
Add To Goodreads
Goodread's Summary: "Becca Hanson was never able to make sense of the real world. When her best friend Charlotte died, she gave up on it altogether. Fortunately, Becca can count on her books to escape—to other times, other places, other people...

Until she meets Max Herrera. He’s experienced loss, too, and his gorgeous, dark eyes see Becca the way no one else in school can.

As it turns out, kissing is a lot better in real life than on a page. But love and life are a lot more complicated in the real world...and happy endings aren't always guaranteed.

The companion novel to Love and Other Unknown Variables is an exploration of loss and regret, of kissing and love, and most importantly, a celebration of hope and discovering a life worth living again."


Monday, July 4, 2016

In My Once Upon A Time #2

   In My Once Upon A Time is a monthly wrap up that is posted on the fourth of every month. The month of June was my first month off from school. However, I didn't spend as much time as I would like reading books. Instead I watched a lot of Netflix and been blogging as often as possible, and I haven't posted since last week. I think I sort of fell into a slump, because I was trying to post everyday. I realize that I don't have to post every single day, I don't want my blogging to become a chore, and I also really want to love everything I put out on my blog. If taking a break helps getting creative juices flowing, then so be it. I also have been making progress on my first draft of my book, which makes me happy.


Here's all the posts for June:

Introduction Post
Netflix Summer Bucket List
In My Upon A Time
Writing Update
Night by Elise Wisel
25 Bookish Facts
Duff by Kody Keplinger
Reviewing Books
An Open Letter to Authors
Twenty One Pilots Book Tag
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
A Quarrel Called by Shannon Wendtland Book Tour

I enjoyed writing every single one of these posts this month. However, I do have my favorite posts that I put a little extra thought and work into and those are Reviewing Books and An Open Letter to Authors. I love once awhile having that idea that gives you that feeling of anxiousness, because you don't know how people will respond to it and you hope that it reaches somebody other than you.

Saturday, July 2, 2016

Change Places With Me by Lois Metzger Blog Tour



Title: Change Places With Me
Author: Lois Metzger
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: June 14th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fiction, Mystery, Fantasy
Synopsis:

Rose has changed. She still lives in the same neighborhood with her stepmother and goes to the same high school with the same group of kids, but when she woke up today, something was just a little different than it was before. The dogs who live upstairs are no longer a terror. Her hair and her clothes all feel brand-new. She wants to throw a party—this from a girl who hardly ever spoke to her classmates before. There is no more sadness in her life; she is bursting with happiness.

But something still feels wrong to Rose. Because, until very recently, Rose was an entirely different person—a person who is still there inside her, just beneath the thinnest layer of skin.

Friday, July 1, 2016

Writing Update #2

    Camp NaNoWriMo starts today!!!!!!! I will be working on my WIP Goddess Warefare. I'm hoping that Camp NaNoWriMo will give me that extra push of motivation to really start working on it. This is my first time participating in something like NaNoWriMo so I'm excited about that. I do have tons of things to update you on about it so lets jump into the post.


  I started the month off with 4,322 words, well I about to reach 14,000 words and that's really great. I really didn't want to redo the beginning until I was finished with the whole draft, but I felt that everything was getting off track and going off the deep end, most of the stuff I wrote out of writers blocked. I sent the first five chapters to a twitter buddy unedited, it wasn't until I was writing the sixth chapter that I realized how unfocused and off paced it is. I restarted the beginning and I'm following the outline to a t now. Originally, I thought the outline was stretching it too much and making it way too detailed, but that I can handle. I can't have the beginning off paced and then a huge chunk on pace, this was making it really hard for me to write.

 Now that I'm working out the confusion of the beginning, everything seems to be fitting in perfectly together and I'm really happy about that. My word count goal for Camp NaNoWriMo is 100,000 words if I don't make it to that in the month of July then I'm fine with that. My main goal is just to trying to finish as much as possible before school starts at the end of August. I really want my first draft to be done by the end of 2016. This will end in me getting started on my first round of edits and to a second draft.

Before I start a second draft I'm sending out two copies of the edited first draft to two of my greatest friends. I know people say family and friends wouldn't want to hurt my feelings, but trust me when I say they are harsh and they wouldn't let me not know, if it is horrible. I'm currently thinking on when to start the beta reader process, I'm trying to get as much research done on it before I get there. I was thinking after I'm done editing the second draft, but then I know some people have betas right along side you as your editing so they can help point out things too.  I would love to hear your thoughts on it in the comments.

I think of my biggest tips is to type in comments as you go long. I'm currently using Word 2016 and I can just add in a comments, but if don't have that tool add comments in a different font or color. Adding comments of different ideas or issues you are seeing as you go long will help you tons when your done with your first draft or even when you are trying to finish your first draft. For example, I notice I don't have any character depth in my characters, this note is leading me to work on character profiles. Another I thing I notice is that I'm doing more telling then showing, I made a note of that and I'm quickly trying to fix that. Everything that I'm learning now is going to help me in the future with other ideas of mine.

What are you guys working on for Camp NaNoWriMo? Is there any tips you would like to shout to me? Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.

Thursday, June 23, 2016

A Quarrel Called by Shannon Wendtland Blog Tour


       

I'm lucky enough to be able to do participate in the A Quarrel Called blog tour. Check out the other stops on the tour.

Title: A Quarrel Called
Author: Shannon Wendtland
Publisher: a Crossed Arrows Title
Release Date: June 20th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Goodreads | Amazon |
Synopsis: "The Sage, The Guardian, The Lantern, The Light – together we four are Stewards of the Plane, a Quarrel.

G. is the Guardian; he’s developed a strong protective instinct and a kickass sword of light that can chase away the baddies like nobody’s business.

Sam is the Lantern; his dreams shed light on possible futures – he’s always had dreams, but now he sees where we’re going and how far, and it scares the crap out of him.

Tara is the Sage; as our resident mystic, she can commune with the Akashic records: the big data warehouse in the sky. She can get information on anywhere, anywhen, if only she can learn to ask the right questions.

And me, I’m Melody, I’m the Light. I can channel the earth’s energy and according to Gramps, I can stabilize a vortex. It’s a good thing, too, or else we would be in a lot of trouble.

Before the summer started, we were a bunch of normal teenagers getting ready for our senior year in high school. By the time summer was over, we’d fought and won battles, lost friends and saved the world (except for that time when we made it worse).

This is our story. We wrote it all down; that way when it happens to you, when you're called to be a Steward of the Plane - a member of a quarrel, you'll know what to do.

**This book is told in first person from four alternating character viewpoints."



Wednesday, June 22, 2016

A Court of Thrones and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 416
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Publication Date: 05-05-2015
Average Rating: 4.30
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis: "When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever"



Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Twenty One Pilots Book Tag

Twenty One Pilots is one of my favorite bands and guess what Lefty from the Left Handed Book Lover created a tag and I'm so excited to be able to do it. Here is the Twenty One Pilots Book Tag


The Pantaloon-A Book Set in A Different Period
"You have learned
way too soon;
you should never trust pantaloons"
Clockwork Angel
This is the book that got me addicted Cassandra Clare. I love everything about this book and series. Cassandra Clare's writing really drags you into the world. The characters make reading this series so much more enjoyable and the romance is like the topping on the cake. Clockwork Princess' ending is just perfect.

Addicted with a Pen: A series you wish that had more books
"I'm only at it again as an addict with a pen."
Fabelhaven
It seems just like yesterday that I was finishing the last book to this series. It actually has been six years since I read any Brandon Mull books. I just remember wanting more and wanting my ship to happen. Bandon Mull should make a spin off series where the characters are older and then my ship can happen. I actually just really want more of this world.

Ride- A Book that took a long time to finish
"I'm falling so I'm taking my time on my ride
Into the Wild
It took me a month to finish this book and that's all I have to say.

House of Gold-A book with gold on the cover
"She asked me, 'Son, when I grow old,
Will you buy me a house of gold?
And when your father turns to stone,
Will you take care of me?'

I will make you queen of everything you see,
I'll put you on the map,
I'll cure you of disease."
This is the second book in the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. I love this series and need to reread and experience Will Herondale all over again.

Tear In My Heart - A book that has a really great romance
"She's the tear in my heart, I'm alive,
She's the tear in my heart, I'm on fire,
She's the tear in my heart, Take me higher,
Than I've ever been."
Throne of Glass
Do I have to say anything about this? It is Sarah J. Maas that's all being stated.

Ode To Sleep - A book that you stayed up all night reading
"I'll stay awake,
'Cause the dark's not taking prisoners tonight."
I loved this series and I really need to re-read it soon. I stayed up about two hours passed the time I should be sleeping to wake up for school in the morning. I really want more of this world and series. Just to know the Day and June happened. I have yet to read the Young Elites, but I hope to get to my hands on this within the year. 

Fake You Out - A book with an ending you didn't see coming
"And I'll fall down
And I'll break down
And I'll fake you out
All I wanna"
Allegiant
All I have to say is why?

Not Today - A book you keep putting off reading
"Heard you say, 'not today,'
Tore the curtains down, windows open now, make a sound,
Heard your voice, 'there's no choice,'
Tore the curtains down, windows open now, make a noise."
I need to read this. I been putting it off for months now and I feel so bad. I love Cassandra Clare and all of her books. I absolutely can't wait to continue to reading about this world. I heard fantastic things about the book. I have no clue why I haven't read this book yet, maybe I don't want to wait for the next book?




I hope you guys enjoy this post. I had fun time making it. I'm so glad there is a Twenty-One Pilots book tag out there. I encourage you guys to go listen to them. Especially their new song for the Sucide Squad track, Heathens.  Remember keep looking for you Once Upon A Time.


Monday, June 20, 2016

An Open Letter to Authors

Dear Authors,

If you are reading this right now that means you actually clicked on my tweet. It still surprises me that I can post something and people actually read it, that I can connect to authors on a daily basis. You don't know who I am and probably never heard of my blog, but that's okay. I don't care if you know who I am because I know your books either mean the world to me or I still have to discover it. You guys work really hard every day to bring us wonderful books and I appreciate that so much. I wish you would know how much your books mean to me on or how much books mean to me in general. I can honestly say that your helped a girl who has very few friends find friends within your story. You helped a girl who had trouble finishing what she started finish something. You helped a girl who with anxiety and depression escaped her world and travel to another world. You helped a girl's imagination grow. You helped her find a community with people who loved reading just as much as does. You helped her discover book blogging. You helped her discover that she wanted to become an author just like you.  I'm 110% sure that I'm not the only one you helped.

Finding out that there is such a thing as a book blog was amazing not only can I connect with other people, but I can help out you authors. I can review your books and help someone else find out your book. It is a cool concept if you think about it, everyone in the bookish community helps each other out, even if we don't realize it.Anytime I speak to an author I always say I love being able you out because without you we wouldn't have a bookish community without you. I'm not sure how much you guys get thanked for writing, but thanks. Thanks for everything you have done and everything you will done.

From an avid reader,
Cheyenne
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I know this isn't a post that I normally would do, but I thought it was worth it. Also want to say thanks to the all the followers and bloggers out there. I love being able to have a chance to help someone find a new favorite book. If I can help someone discover reading and discover this world then its all worth it. I hope you guys enjoy reading this post I can't wait to see some reactions from this post. Thanks for reading, and remember keep searching for your Once Upon A Time.













        

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Reviewing Books

      This topic of reviewing books has been rattling in my head for the past two weeks and I think its important that I talk about it because I do review books on a blog. I'm sure that many of you reading this post do the same. Also, I couldn't really find more posts about this topic and that was shocking. I'm not talking about how to structure a review because that's a different topic. What this post is all about is how frequent you post reviews, do you review every book, do you put bad reviews on your blog etc.

     I recently just posted a review on goodreads that was a DNF review. I'm personally weary about posting bad reviews or DNF reviews on my blog. Mostly, because I don't have much to say about the book and I don't want offend anyone. With these kind of the books, it is normally the same thing that I always throws me off; pacing, no character depth, no plot, or its just really confusing. At the same time I feel that as reviewers we shouldn't just not post the bad reviews, because reviews are suppose to help the author out. Of course there is always going to be those haters you will never like anything. As an author you have to expect to get critics on your writing. Reminding you, there is fine line between constructive criticism and being a jerk. I would never post a review bashing the author and saying how horrible they are. There's a simple fact, you can't please everyone's ta

   Another question I been thinking about how is how frequent do you post reviews? In theory you want to find a balance between discussion posts and reviews. So how do you know when you are posting too many reviews and not enough discussion posts or the other way around? Do you review every single book you read? I think eventually you would get a burned out from reviewing books. Should we asked ourselves questions before post a review? Like is the review something your proud of? Or is it just a filler post. Personally, I think everything you put out should be something you love.

   There is no right or wrong way to blog. You can give out tips and help others, but at the end of the day we are all different bloggers. I would really love to hear your thoughts about reviewing books. It's really interesting to see things from other people's point of views. Remember always keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.


Wednesday, June 8, 2016

The Duff by Kody Keplinger

Title: The Duff
Author: Kody Keplinger
Pages: 320
Publication Date: 01-13-2015
Publisher: Poppy
Ratings 3.88
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis: "Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, a biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She's also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. But things aren't so great at home and Bianca, desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn't such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she's falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone"




When I first bought this book, I tried to read it, but I couldn't get into it. I think it was because I burned out from reading at the time. Over a year later I picked it up and finished it quickly and loved it. What would have made this book a five star book for me is the pacing is a little slow in the beginning and picks up around the fifth chapter. There was a lot of character development coming from the main character, Bianca. For me ,the whole point of story is to understand that everyone thinks badly about themselves.

This book is really real. I think a lot of people might feel that the plot line to be cheesy, especially in the synopsis. Yeah there are parts of the book where its super cheesy and overdone. For example, Bianca swears that she will never fall for Wesley, this basic sub-plot has been done over and over again. This works for the book because so many of the situations happen to people in real life. It deals with self-confidence, divorce, alcoholism. A teenager experiencing this can come to this book and build the connections with it. That will make the book mean so much more to the person.

Throughout our lives we grow and Bianca grows a lot, and becomes a better person in the end. In the beginning she's annoying and does blame all of her problems on someone else. I think deep down she is really afraid of falling in love and getting hurt. If she would have stayed this way throughout the book, I would have gone crazy. I also really enjoyed that we got to see the different side of Wesley, that wasn't shown in the school.

Overall, I had a fun time reading this book. It is a solid three star book. I'm sure as read more of Kody Keplinger that her books will get better and better. I would recommend this book to anyone because if you look over some of the flaws, then the message is worth it.  Have you read this book? What were your thoughts on it? Do you recommend any other of the author's books?A quick reminder is that I want to do a Q+A, and would love to see some of your questions. Remember always keeping searching for your Once Upon A Time.





Tuesday, June 7, 2016

25 Bookish Facts

         The whole concept of 25 Bookish Facts is to tell your followers 25 Bookish Facts about yourself. Since this is a fresh start to Once Upon A Time A Review, I thought this would be a perfect post to have on my blog. Let's jump right on in.

  1. I used to hate reading books. I dreaded reading anything. In my old school they use to make you take these tests that told you what level of reading you should be at and I always got the lowest. That meant I couldn't check out any of the books that I really wanted to read. I was always stuck with Junie B. Jones and Magic Treehouse, which to be honest were amazing series to get kid into reading.
  2. Several years later, I developed a problem with checking books out and never finishing them. It got so bad that my librarian refused to let check out any books without reading them first.  
3. Charlotte's Web was the first book I actually sat down and read the whole way through. After the ending, I was addicted to reading books. I wonder after all these years what I would think about this book now.

4. I used to be afraid of series and big chapter books. The books in this series aren't that big. It took me one month to finish the first book. I dedicate this series for getting be addict to reading series. Gosh I should reread this sometime.
5. During this time I hated Harry Potter because my only experience of the world was through the movies. I got to say I'm not a big fan of the movies, but out of the books I read they are far more superb.
6.  I love binge reading series. I mean who doesn't?
7. I disagree when people say Twilight is a love triangle. In Eclipse it clearly says that it was always Edward. The movie franchise just made it seem to be a love triangle to make more money.  
8. To go along with number with the whole Twilight thing fyi Jacob is a shape shifter not a werewolf. I have to say this all the time to my friends who haven't read the books.
9.  I don't read many stand-alones I prefer series.
10. I don't like short books because they don't last me. I read Breaking Dawn in three hours. I read the whole Divergent Trilogy in three days. I read the whole Percy Jackson series in a week. I'm not bragging here, but short books wouldn't even last me a day.
11. I'm really bad about updating my Goodread's status dealing with books.
12. I don't like To Kill Mocking Bird.
13. I don't like Romeo and Juliet.
14. I don't like the Mazerunner Series, but I love the movies.
15. I can't go to the library because I have to big of a fine.
16. I do not like the Percy Jackson movies they were a disgrace. Also the Divergent movie didn't put my favorite scene in the movie. Not all book to movie adaptions are horrible. The Fault in our Stars was great.
17. I watched the Twilight movie before I read the books. I did the same with If I Stay and I still haven't read that particular the book.
18.  I hate when people ask me what is your favorite book or author or series because that is an impossible question.
19. I used to hate using book marks because I'm really good at remembering where I leave off at, but my best friends mom got me some bookmarks and I been using them. I really want the magnetic ones.
20. I never stop in the middle of the chapter when I'm reading. I absolutely hate doing that. However there are a few occasions where I have to.
21. I get most of my reading down in the car. That's going to change since I will be driving soon.
22. I didn't really know how to read until second grade. Our school didn't really focus on reading until second grade. My parents bought me Dick and Jane and that's how I learned how to read.
23. I always used to make my mom read me Red Fish Blue Fish One Fish Two Fish by Dr.Suess. It goes  something like that.
24.I remember this one time where our teacher made us write simple sentences. All the kids, but me did this. I wrote a compound sentence. This isn't completely bookish.
25. My favorite book in a series is the last book. I also love cliffhangers too.



There you have it 25 Bookish Facts About Me.

I tag these three lovely bloggers.


I hope you enjoyed this blog post. What's one thing that is interesting about you? Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.

Monday, June 6, 2016

Night by Elie Wisel


Title: Night
Author: Elie Wiesel
Pages: 115
Publisher: Hill and Wang
Release Date: January 16th 2006
Rating 4.28 Stars
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis: "Night is a work by Elie Wiesel about his experience with his father in the Nazi German concentration camps at Auschwitz and Buchenwald in 1944–1945, at the height of the Holocaust and toward the end of the Second World War. In just over 100 pages of sparse and fragmented narrative, Wiesel writes about the death of God and his own increasing disgust with humanity, reflected in the inversion of the father–child relationship as his father declines to a helpless state and Wiesel becomes his resentful teenage caregiver.

Penetrating and powerful, as personal as The Diary Of Anne Frank, Night awakens the shocking memory of evil at its absolute and carries with it the unforgettable message that this horror must never be allowed to happen again"




  I didn't think I was going to enjoy reading Night. Most require school reading doesn't really work for me, I always struggle reading these kind of books. However, reading Night I was surprised on how much how I enjoyed it. It could because it was a memoir and I love reading memoirs. Or it could be the fact that the writing was really beautifully done. I have so much to discuss about this book and the way it made me feel.

 In a person's life, I believe there is always going to be a certain books that really hit you. That make you feel, think, and understand things. This book is one of those books. Just reading the description on the back of the book it's really hard to understand that something this horrific actually happened. That person's solution to solving one's problem is eliminating the inferior people. It makes me feel disgusted at mankind because they acted like they had no humanity. I don't want to say that it's sad because its beyond the point of the being sad.

 I mention this before, but his writing was really beautifully done. As I was reading this I had to literally remind myself that this actually happened to so many different people. I felt like we got a look on the inside where in the Diary of Anne Frank, it was more hopeful and happy. We never got to see how her life was in the concentration camp. I think it's very important for us to have a look from the inside and the outside. Everything flows together perfectly and we are getting a first hand encounter. That being said this is just Elie's story everyone went through some different.

 I have one scene burnt into my memory, it sticks out more than any other scene in the book. Elie and his family just arrived at the concentration camp. His little sister was wearing a red coat. When they got there they separated the males from the females, elderly, and young children. Eventually they got into lines and he saw his little sister with her red coat walk away from them forever. I assume that they ended up in the crematorium that day. Just thinking about him watching half of his family walk to their deaths is forever lodge into my mind.

  I highly recommend this book. I gave it four out of five stars. I feel like everyone should read this book. They need to understand the Holocaust, so we can prevent something like this from happening again. If you have read this book, please let me know your thoughts on it? If you have read any other WW2 book let me know so I can check it out. Remember keep searching for your Once Upon A Time.