Monday, June 12, 2017

It's Monday What Are You Reading?



It's Monday What Are You Reading is a weekly tag hosted by Book Journey. Where we share our reading plans for the upcoming week.

Saturday, June 10, 2017

Wonder Woman Review (non-spoiler)



Wonder Woman was released on June 2nd 2017 and it is the origin story of Wonder Woman. The movie stars Gal Gadot and Chirs Pine. For the full cast and more information about the movie itself check out IMDb.  If you aren't familiar it takes place in the DC universe. I wasn't sure how I was going to enjoy this movie because I'm more of a Marvel kind of gal. Also DC hasn't been very promising in the movie department since the Batman trilogy ended awhile back. Then they try to rebound with Batman vs Superman which looked horrible and reviews weren't the best. Suicide Squad was great, but it wasn't no marvel movie. Despite all of this I went into Wonder Woman not knowing what to expect and unbiased opinion. From one Marvel fan to the next you should totally go see Wonder Woman. 

Diana's background was really amazing and I loved it. It's very mythology based and I love my mythology. The setting of the movie was in the early 20th century. Basically combining mythology and history together which is some of my favorite things. The plot was great, predictable, but overall great. I enjoyed how the character development was there and there's still room for them to grow. I couldn't help, but compare it Logan where that development was on point and it had to be on point. My next favorite thing about Wonder Woman were the graphics they were amazing. Of course graphics aren't everything when it comes to movie, but they are still pretty crucial. I told my mom that they were up there with the Marvel movies.

Gal Gadot who played Wonder Woman was an amazing actress. I felt like she was the perfect actress for the part. I vaguely remember her playing in the Fast and Furious movies. Chris Pine sort of reminded me of the person played on Timeless. While at least his character did and I was fine with that. The whole movie left you wanting more and I came to the conclusion I need a sequel. I guess we will have to wait till this fall to see the Justice League, which looks really promising. 

Did you guys seen Wonder Woman? What were your thoughts on it? Did you like this non-spoiler set up? Do you like Marvel or DC? Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.


Friday, June 9, 2017

Summer Netflix Bucket List 2017 #2




This time last year school was getting out, and I thought it would be a great idea to make a Summer Netflix Bucket List. Which had all the shows I wanted to binge watch or re-watch over the summer. I failed at it, but I want to try it again. Considering that my first semester of college will be approaching soon, it's the best that I get as much watch as possible. Last year my set up was pretty simple I list the show and if it was a new show, a re-watch, currently watching, or if the show is on hold. If the show was something I was currently watching or something that was on hold I would list the season and episode number that I was on. I will be keeping that same formatting this year as well. If you want to check out last year's post to see if any of the shows are the same or different you can click here.Let's jump right into my second Summer Netflix Bucket List.

Monday, June 5, 2017

UPDATES GALORE

I have finally dust off my computer and I'm ready to get back into blogging and stay consistent. For real this time, I know I have said this in the past, but this time is for real. First question you may be wondering is where have you been? I could lie and say I have been busy with school, but the truth is my anxiety has been really bad. On top of that I was recently diagnosed with something and I was put on this medicine which drains me physically and emotionally. Throw in school to the mixture and I am a complete hot mess.

Something I realized these months is that I miss writing in general. Even if I wasn't writing a story, blogging was a way of writing. A way for me to improve and find my own style. I do have to point out that I do write essays for school, but it's not the same. I miss and I'm going to try post as often as possible in the last month of school. Over the summer I will be getting in a schedule, so when college starts I can be able to post. Noting that I will have a summer job, hopefully.

I want want to be able to make this blog the best version that it can be.  Developing the blog to be mature, professional, and great content is a major priority for me this summer. Stepping up my social media skills it can help my blog grow is another thing that I know is very crucial. This is also the time where I should mention you can follow me on most social media at @chey_ouatar, so you can stay update on my journey.

The last thing I wanted to touch on is my new blog A Journey to the Perfect Student. I started this blog as a way to help motivate me and keep me organize. Not to mention I love organization, planning, and anything that falls into that category.  The only problem is that's the wrong content for Once Upon A Time A Review. I still have the same goals and hopes for that blog as I do with this one, but my main focus is handling this blog then add the other one to the mix.

As always thanks for reading and stay tune for more posts this month.  Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.





  

Monday, January 9, 2017

Into the Wild by Erin Hunter

Title: Into the Wild
Author: Erin Hunter
Pages: 288
Published: 01-09-2003
Publisher: HarperTrophy
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis: For generations, four Clans of wild cats have shared the forest according to the laws laid down by their warrior ancestors. But the ThunderClan cats are in grave danger, and the sinister ShadowClan grows stronger every day. Noble warriors are dying-- and some deaths are more mysterious than others. In the midst of this turmoil appears an ordinary house cat named Rusty . . . who may turn out to be the bravest warrior of them all.  

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Sherlock Recap S4:E1


If you guys don't know what Sherlock is where have you been? Sherlock is a British Television show featuring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. It has 10 episodes and is currently on it's 4th season. The fourth season just aired Sunday January 1st on channels BBC1 and PBS. Each episode is 90 minuets long. Overall Sherlock is an amazing show and so very incredibly detailed. All of the actors and actresses do a fantastic job with this show. If you haven't watched any Sherlock go turn on Netflix now don't come back until you're all caught up. Spoilers are going to happen so if you continue reading and haven't watched the latest episode it's you're own fault. Now goodbye for now.


Sunday, January 1, 2017

2017 Reading Goals

It's that time of the year again where us bloggers of the book community or youtubers, break down our reading goals for the new year. Every year a lot of us make these goals, but this year I really want to stick with them so cheers to be holding me a more accountable.

  1.  Get on my bookish social media more often. This seems like a small goal at hand, but I have been on an unannounced hiatus for awhile now and I really want to make time for it. 
  2. Read 20 Classics this year. This goal is supposed to help me become very well rounded in different types of literature
  3. Finish off at least 5 different series. I really want to finish the series I already started and I'm pretty sure I can finish off these in series within the coming months.
  4. Start at least 5 new series that I been meaning to read. Again I think I can do that within the coming months. 
  5. Read a an author I have been meaning reading to read.
  6. Read at least two adult books.
  7.  Read all of my Netgalley Books 
  8. Read 175 books in total.
A lot of these goals are really going to be helping me with finding that diversity in literature, so I can learn and grow as a reader and a writer. I know this is a very short post, and I promise more there are posts coming soon. Remember keep looking for your Once Upon A Time.